login | contact us

Green Flag Award

Criteria for the Green Flag Award

For a complete list of the Green Flag criteria, please see the Award Criteria.

Green Flag Applications and Renewals

Please try out the new online application in the School Zone.

Whether you are applying for a Green Flag for the first time or renewing your Green Flag status, the application process is the same (with the exception of an additional section for reapplications).

 As always you can submit your Green Flag application at any time of the year but these are the deadlines for a guaranteed assessment in the 2023/24 school year, schools applying after these dates might not be assessed by the end of June.

  • If you wish for guaranteed assessment in the 2023/24 academic year, please have your application submitted by 1 March 2024.

Your application will be acknowledged and processed by the Eco-Schools office. Your school will be contacted so that a suitable date for an assessment visit can be arranged. During this visit the assessor may ask to see some or all of the evidence referred to in your application form, and will wish to talk with both children and staff about their level of involvement in the scheme.

Following a successful visit, you will receive a confirmation letter, certificate and Green Flag.

If your application is unsuccessful, the form will be returned to you with an explanation, and some guidance as to how a resubmission may succeed; requirements for progress will be provided.

Need help with your application? Contact your Field Officer!

Anna Green, anna.green@keepnorthernirelandbeautiful.org

Belfast City (BCC) and Antrim & Newtownabbey (A&N)

Gareth Lamrock, gareth.lamrock@keepnorthernirelandbeautiful.org

Derry City & Strabane (DCS), Causeway Coastal Glens (CCG), Mid & East Antrim (MEA)

Peter McErlean, peter.mcerlean@keepnorthernirelandbeautiful.org

Fermanagh & Omagh (FO) and Mid Ulster (MU)

Ben Ryan, ben.ryan@keepnorthernirelandbeautiful.org

Newry, Mourne & Down (NMD), Armagh, Bainbridge & Craigavon (ABC)

Zara Hamilton, zara.hamilton@keepnorthernirelandbeautiful.org

Lisburn City & Castlereagh (LCC) and Ards & North Down (AND)